Media and News





Prof. Lienhard giving commencement address at IIT Ropar in Dec. 2018

Prof. Lienhard addressing graduates at IIT Ropar Convocation in Dec. 2018. IIT Director Prof. Sarit Das is at far right.


  • Toward efficient high-pressure desalination, about Emily Tow’s high pressure fouling studies, in MIT News, 16 October 2017.
  • Video: Prof. Lienhard interviewed by MIT Tea With Teachers 10 October 2017.
  • Yvana Ahdab wins Best Student Research Poster Award at the 2017 Groundwater Protection Council Annual Forum, Boston, 28 September 2017.
  • Andrew Bouma and Quantum Wei receive Honorable Mention at the 2017 MIT Mechanical Engineering Research Exhibition, Sept. 2017.
  • Omar Labban receives the Rasikbhai L. Meswani Fellowship for Water Solutions, June 2017.
  • From Sea to Tap: can the oceans solve water scarcity?, Op-Ed in by Prof. Lienhard: The Mark News 22 June 2017; Arab News, 25 June 2017; Japan Today, 27 June 2017; Cyprus Mail, 26 June 2017; Peruvian Times, 27 June 2017.
  • Video: Professor Lienhard speaks at the EAT Stockholm Food Forum, on Science and Technology for a Food Secure Future, 12 June 2017.
  • May 2017
    • Jaichander Swaminathan receives MIT Carl G. Sontheimer Prize for Creativity in Research
    • Emily Tow receives MIT Meredith Kamm Memorial Award
  • March Madness 2017!
    • Yvana Ahdab receives NSF Graduate Fellowship
    • Emily Tow selected as an MIT Graduate Woman of Excellence
    • Kishor Nayar receives Best Poster Award at MIT Water Night
  • Emily Tow wins Best Student Paper Award at the 2017 AMTA/AWWA Membrane Technology Conference and Exposition in Long Beach, 16 February 2017.
Prof. Lienhard speaking on science and technology for food security at the EAT Stockholm Food Forum, June 2017.

Prof. Lienhard speaking on science and technology for food security at the EAT Stockholm Food Forum, June 2017. Photo credit: Johan Lygrell.



  • How to Share Water Along the Nile, New York Times Op-Ed on the Grand Ethiopian Renaissance Dam by Prof. Lienhard and Dr. K.M. Strzepek,
    29 Sept. 2015.
  • Jaichander Swaminathan receives Best Presentation Award and David Warsinger receives Best Poster Award at the International Desalination Association World Congress on Desalination and Water Reuse, 3 September 2015
  • Toward cheaper water treatment, about spin-off company from our lab, 17 July 2015
  • Jaichander Swaminathan and David Warsinger win first and second place best poster awards, respectively, at the American Water Works Association Annual Conference and Exposition, 10 June 2015
  • J-WAFS: A nexus for water and food research at MIT, in MIT Spectrum, Summer 2015
  • Professor Lienhard receives the 2015 ASME Heat Transfer Memorial Award, for Art of Practice.
  • David Warsinger receives Outstanding UROP Graduate Mentor Award, April 2015.
  • Ronan McGovern receives the Ilya Prigogine Prize of Thermodynamics from the Joint European Thermodynamics Conference (JETC) for his doctoral thesis, March 2015.
  • Our group’s paper Entropy Generation Analysis of Desalination Systems (Mistry et al., 2011) receives a Best Paper Award from the journal Entropy, 16 February 2015.
  • Video: Renewable Water, Professor Lienhard at the World Economic Forum in Davos, Switzerland, 21 January 2015.
On Mount Morgan

Our group on the summit of Mount Morgan in New Hampshire, 16 July 2015



2012 and earlier